Tags

, , , ,

Poison_Ivy

Today’s picture is of my worst enemy of the season. Poison Ivy. It’s been such a long time since I got poison ivy, but this year it was bad. I have scars running on both my arms, and it spread throughout my clothes, and into my left armpit. It’s such a bother, not because it itches, it’s because the oils are invisible and they keep spreading. You think it’s all gone, but then you end up wearing something that still has it. Or, worse, you get it under your nails, and your fingers don’t get the blisters, but whatever else you touch on your body and others get the blisters. I’m just lucky that I’m currently recovering from poison ivy. It was scary, when it first started spreading, and I had no idea where I got it from. That’s another downside to it, especially, when you don’t know what you’re looking for. But, luckily YouTube has helped me identify the plant.

1) Longer Red stem in the middle
2) 3 leaves, 2 on the side, and one in the middle, more extended than the other two.
3) The side leaves are shaped like mittens, or like the plant above.

This is a picture of the poison that’s growing rampant near the El, and it’s also on my neighbor’s yard, and it’s also growing in the sidewalk cracks. I encounter this plant numerous times on my way to work, and it got all over my work clothes without me know. It took a while to find out all the places, so now I avoid every patch of greenery, and stay to the streets. I don’t want to get poison ivy again, but luckily if I do, I know where to turn. Tecnu, I know it’s expensive, but it’s worth it. It’s able to suck out the poisons from your skin, clean your nails, and remove it from wherever else you have it on your body. You can use soap and water, or gasoline, anything that cleans oils away from your body, but this stuff has the added benefit of pulling it away from your skin. So, it’s definitely worth it.

Enjoy the rest of your summer everyone, but watch out for those skin irritants that could damper your summery. If you have any ideas / suggestions on how to deal with poison ivy, write a note below.
Thanks for sharing!

 

