Hello Everyone,

Hope you’re all having a great, wonderful day!! I’m carbing up here at Franny Lou’s in Fishtown. Nice place to relax and enjoy some good iced Chai tea.

So, it’s been about 3 months since I gave up having a car. I think it’s been a pretty decent choice. No more insurance bills, no more gas bills. No more maintenance bills. No more parking bills. It’s all been replaced by a $91.00 Septa monthly pass. All these seem to be good reasons, but here are some of the negative reasons from not having a car.

Grocery shopping has gotten a lot more difficult. I don’t have a shopping cart to take to and fro, so I’m limited to just what I can carry in my hands. The other issue is the weight limit. I can probably carry 30 pounds of food for the 0.5 mile commute. This gets more difficult when its iced tea, milk, or liquids, by the time I get home on this sweltering summer day, I would have drank most of the drinks already. It takes me about 5 minutes to run it, but about 10 minutes to walk it. So I also have to be cognizant of time when buying cold goods, like ice cream. Luckily, I don’t buy ice cream, but cream cheese, yogurt, or iced tea are on my shopping list.
Going to work has also been challenging since it’s so hot. I have to walk the 0.5 miles to the El, but after that it’s okay. I guess the trade off is walking in hot weather, rather than paying for parking. I’ll make that trade off, since it’s about $20/day to park in Philadelphia.
I haven’t had to move furniture yet, so I haven’t had to face that challenge, but if I needed to, I can rent a car.
It’s been harder to visit my sister, who is 1.2 miles away. She’s also uphill, which makes running it harder. I would like to visit more, but it’s about a 20 minute commute each way.
My girlfriend, I mean fiancee is being bothered by my not having a car, so I can readily be available for her. So there are some headaches with not having a car, but you definitely save a lot of money. I think I’ll continue this lifestyle for a bit longer, or until the fiancee says differently 😀 haha!

